About The Club - Sign Up - Club Sponsors - Contact Us - Football Promotions

U14's Win Felpham Colts Tournament 2009/2010

Two weeks, two tournaments and two tournament victories as Twin Oaks carried the Crawley banner to the Felpham Colts 6 a side football tournament at Bognor Regis.
Defensively frugal stewardship from at various times Jerome Johnston Elliot Lancaster, Jason Quarry and goalkeeper Shaun Smith enabled Twin Oaks to victory in their first four matches of the group, winning each 1-0 against BSS Portsmouth, Predators, Barnham Trojans and Bourne Sports A. A 1-1 draw with Lancing Rangers followed, and then finished the group with a flourish; a 5-0 win over Avisford Youth and 2-0 over Sompting.
The highlight of the group matches came in the form of a lofted pass from Jerome Johnston who found Josh Wells in space. A deft first touch enabled Wells to provide a sublime chip over the advancing keeper placing the ball into the net.
A tight semi final against the hosts Felpham Colts followed with Twin Oaks looking tired in the heat. Felpham took an early 1-0 lead and Twin Oaks appeared to have no response. With a minute and a half of the match remaining Elliot Lancaster blasted his team back into contention. In added time further goals from Liam Ingram and tournament debutant Ross Keeley who sealed the game with his second goal of the tournament.
From the lethargic start to the previous game Twin Oaks took to the final looking the fresher side and after significant pressure a parried shot lead to Ellias Ainine driving a half volley into the Bourne Sports B net. Several more chances went astray, and slowly Bourne began to lever themselves back into the game. However, due to resolute defending as a team Twin Oaks prevailed once again, coming through as 1-0 winners.
Liam Ingram finished the day as top scorer with 6 goals in the tournament and many more assists. He was followed by Ellias Ainine, Elliot Lancaster and Josh Wells with 3 goals each and Ross Keeley with 2.

Team: Shaun Smith, Jerome Johnston, Elliot Lancaster, Ellias Ainine, Ross Keeley, Jason Quarrey, Liam Ingram, Josh Wells.