About Us - Sign Up - Locations - Our Sponsors - Contact Us - Football Club

Burgess Hill Festival 5-a-side Trophy

11th June 2005
Burgess Hill Rugby Club


Runners Up

Photo Gallery
The 4th Burgess Hill Festival 5-a-side tournament was contested by the maximum (32) teams possible.

Eight leagues of four teams competed against each other with seven teams gaining maximum points in the group stages. League four being the only league not to produce a team scoring maximum points.

These team were Fishersgate Flyers 2 in League One and Jolly Boatman 2 in league seven with the highest goal difference of +13,both only conceding one goal in the group stages.
Next was Adur in League two with a goal difference of +9 who never conceded a goal in the group stages. Also on +9 goal difference was Varndean Rovers Utd who conceded five goals in the group stages.
Next up were Clubfoot with a +6 goal difference in the group stages and also conceding three goals. Last but not least were Fishersgate Flyers and St Pauls both on +5 goal difference. Fishersgate Flyers conceding one goal and St Pauls conceding two within their group stages.

There were a total of 5 penalty shootouts within the knockout stages this year.

Fishersgate Flyers 2 were the penalty kings by winning two of their shootouts. They drew 0-0 against Sporting Devils in the first knock out stages and then went on to win 3-0 on penalties. They then met their other team (Fishersgate Flyers) in the quarterfinal that ended in another 0-0 draw but this time narrowly winning by 4-3 on penalties.
Fishersgate Flyers 2 were eventually knocked out by Clubfoot 3 goals to 1 in the Semi-final stage.
The other penalty shootouts were Jolly Boatman 2 v Shoreham Gooners (2-2 Shoreham Gooners winning 3-1on penalties), Varndean Rovers Utd v S.S.L.United (1-1 Varndean Rovers Utd winning 3-0 on penalties) and Adur v Jolly Boatman (0-0 Jolly Boatman winning 3-1 on penalties)

The final was contested between Clubfoot and St Pauls who both breezed through their knockout stages.
The eventual winners were St Pauls WELL DONE ST PAULS.

The top goal scorer trophy this year went to R.Mitchell from Varndean Rovers Utd scoring an incredible 9 goals.